Intimate Father: A Reflection on Psalm 139:13-18

(This devotional parallels “Breath of Life” posted on May 25, 2010)

 Father,

As You breathed life into Adam, even so, You breathed life into me. My heart was awaken at the sound of Your heartbeat. Your loving desire and innermost longing created me, crafted me, and birthed me. My life began in an intimacy with You that continues throughout my life.

 Psalm 139: 13-18

 13 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

You envisioned me. Your craftsmanship sculpted me, You placed me and positioned me in my mother’s womb.

 14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

I am God’s masterpiece. His artistic design of me was intentional. He wholeheartedly focused His skills in completing me. He worked with precision carrying out His master plan. God never fails, experiences no blunders, mistakes, or mishaps.

 15 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.

Nothing about me is an “oops!” During my creation nothing occurred outside Your plan, every element of my being was directed and orchestrated by You.

16 Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

You were intimately involved in my birth and intricately involved in my life. You have a purpose and a specific plan for each day. My life is full of purpose, futility is non-existent.

 17 How precious to me are your thoughts, God! How vast is the sum of them! 18 Were I to count them, they would outnumber the grains of sand— when I awake, I am still with you.

God, Your love, knowledge, intention, and intimacy blows me away. Your goodness and greatness are baffling and incomprehensible.

3 Responses to “Intimate Father: A Reflection on Psalm 139:13-18”

  1. nwchristianwriters Says:

    “My heart was awakened at the sound of Your heartbeat.” What blessing to ponder this profound thought!

  2. Connie Mace Says:

    (forgot to log-out of NCWA) “My heart was awakened at the sound of Your heartbeat.” What blessing to ponder this profound thought!

    • Lorie Says:

      Connie, while reading your post this thought came. Not surprising since Our Creator continues to inspire both of us. Thanks for your ongoing encouragement.

Leave a Reply

