Where’s Your Trust?

Oh my God, in You I trust. Psalm 25:2

There are times when our desire for clarity becomes a road block hindering forward movement. Our view of the future is always limited. When entering a journey of trust, there is more certainty of what one leaves behind than what lies ahead. Although it’s natural, even human, to desire and ask for clarity, there are times when God asks us to move forward, not with clarity, but in trust. The foundation of faith is a confidence in God, not in calculated plans and predicted outcomes. Our challenge is determining whether we are stalling for clarity when we are to move forward in trust.

Personal Prayer

Father, I confess, I want clarity in life. I desire the security of well-formed plans with identified outcomes. While I believe it is godly and responsible to plan and prepare, ultimately You are directing my life, calling the shots, and establishing Your plans and purposes in the world. Help me to live in partnership with You and in confident trust that one greater than me is in charge and in control. Let this understanding be my security and confidence.

 Reflection Questions

What are clues that the desire for clarity is competing with or replacing the need to trust? 

How can we recognize when our confidence is rooted in our well-formed plans instead of God? 

Thought to Ponder

Once you identify your areas of worry, you discover areas of needed trust.

Quote to Consider

I haven’t a clue as to how my story will end. But that’s all right. When you set out on a journey and night covers the road, that’s when you discover the stars.

Nancy Willard

Leave a Reply

