Come

“Come to Me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”  Matthew 11:28-30

What I love about Christ is His desire to have a personal relationship with us. This is expressed in His personal invitation to “Come.” Unlike the friends you are always calling and suggesting getting together with, who eagerly respond and participate, but never extend an opportunity or throw out an idea for an activity, Christ is the initiator.

Unlike the childhood recess line-up for those wanting to play baseball, with Christ, you’ll never become the undesirable left-over who becomes a casualty for the unfortunate team. That’s because Christ picked you and called you before you even wanted to play. (Eph. 1:4, Col. 3:12)  A relationship with Christ is not about what you have to offer, Christ picks you and offers Himself to you.

Don’t be afraid that your sin will cause Christ to run away from you. Like Adam, whose sin in the Garden didn’t prevent God from seeking him out, it’s Christ’s love of you, not your abilities or skills, that cause Him to actively pursue you. You see, He’s wild about you, who you are, not what you can do for Him.

Respond to His call right now. Remember, He’s not calling you to religion, to comply to a list of do’s and don’ts, or to activity, busyness, or labor. Christ is calling you to Himself with three powerful words, “Come to Me.”

Respond to His invitation and come.

Prayer

Father, thank you for calling me to you. I accept your invitation. I want to come to you and remain with you. Help me to live in your presence. I want my mind, heart, emotions to rest in you.

Leave a Reply

