Let God Define Your Good

For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope. Jeremiah 29:11 (NLT)

There are times when I am uncertain of what possible good God can be doing in situations that I would have preferred God to prevent in my life. Despite this uncertainty, I’m becoming increasingly confident that whatever God’s will is, it is good and it is for my good.

Things didn’t look good for Joseph when abandoned by his brothers and sold into slavery. Not many declared God’s goodness while Naomi faced a tsunami of devastation. Mary and Martha both questioned the goodness of Jesus in neglecting their request to come immediately to heal their brother thereby preventing his death.

Our challenge today is to stop defining good by comfort, pain removal, protection from tragedy, injustice, or evil. If this definition were accurate, the lives of Joseph, Naomi, Mary, Martha, and Jesus would accuse and convict God of not being good.

I’m learning to allow God to define what is good in my life. This involves trusting that his thoughts and ways are far beyond my mind or my heart’s ability to comprehend. (Isaiah 55:8-9) At the same time I realize my lack of understanding doesn’t hinder God from doing good.

Although I will never be able to comprehend fully what God is doing or why He is doing what He is doing, there is a peace in recognizing God is fully good and busy doing good in areas where my mind and heart see no evidence of good.

Personal Response

  • Reflect upon times when your evaluation of your circumstances caused you to question God’s goodness? Share with God your decision to believe in His goodness regardless of what your mind and heart would interpret as God’s lack of goodness.
Leave a Reply

