I’m Complete

“And in him you have been made complete.” Colossians 2:10 (NASB)

It is God, not others who complete us. Let this become my motto, “I am complete, I will not compete.” You alone, O God, complete me. You give me value, significance, and purpose. Help me not to look to a spouse, family, friends, or achievements to satisfy or fulfill me. This thinking misplaces you and places a heavy and unfair burden on others. It imprisons others with the responsibility of meeting my desires and whims. This is a form of slavery and you paid a heavy price for our freedom.

Although I’m complete in you, that doesn’t dismiss my need for others or make me a lone ranger. As a babe in a manager, you knew what it was like to need others. You valued relationships and paid a high price to restore them. Like you used others in Jesus’, life, you are using others to complete you plans and purposes in me. Help me not to dismiss others but to instead receive their words, insights, and to allow them to provide a picture of how my words, behaviors, and actions impact others.

Thank you that not only am I complete in you, but you’ve promised that you won’t stop working in my earthly life until your work in me is completed on the day that Christ Jesus returns (Philippians 1:6). That’s one incredible promise that I plan to hold onto even on those days when I question if anything valuable was completed.

One Response to “I’m Complete”

  1. Susan B Says:

    Hi Loire,

    I finally made the time to read your blog. Your words and choice of scriptures are so encouraging. Thank you for your inspirational insights. They nourish my soul and touch my heart. I appreciate the way you bring your everyday circumstances to teach us lessons of God’s love and presence. As I read your devotionals, my “light and momentary troubles” (2 Corinthians 4:17) help me to look upward from where my Help comes from-the Maker of heaven and earth (Psalms 121:1-2). Thanks, Lorie.

Leave a Reply

