Breath of Life

God formed man of dust from the ground, and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life; and man became a living being. Genesis 2:7

God, a master artist, picks up a handful of dirt as the first material in his creation. Nothing special about dirt, not an exciting substance with much value. It’s common, easily accessible, and seemingly insignificant. Yet, what happens next is life giving. God breaths his very own breath into the dirt, and humanity is born. We are God-breathed, created in God’s image, his image bearers. When God looks at us he immediately sees his reflection and image.

Somehow, since the fall in the Garden, we’ve lost our ability to see God’s very breath and likeness within us and others. How do I become free from the fallen nature and its faulty misperceptions? How do I flee from the deception Adam and Eve embraced in Eden and return to God’s view of myself and others as gemstones of creation, loved and adored children whose value was established and secured at Calvary. 

How does knowing I’m God’s craftsmanship on display help me fight the tendency to compare and measure my body with today’s cultural values and images? Why do I dislike these curvy hips that make pant shopping such a nightmare? A sales clerk recently observed my frustration and pointing to my hips said to me, “these are your curves, you need to love them.” Was there a message whispered from God to me in her words?

Father, continue to remind me that a common substance such as dirt, when made alive by your breath, reflects your image. Like Adam and Eve, it’s so easy to fall into the trap of looking to sources other than you to find beauty, satisfaction and value. As that deception fills my thoughts, let your truth redirect me to David’s words in Psalm 139:14, “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made, your works are wonderful.”

Leave a Reply

