Love Came Down

He emptied Himself, taking the form of a bond-servant, and being made in the likeness of men. Philippians 2:7 (NASB)

My husband’s new job drew us to CA. An exciting new adventure, surroundings, and increased warmth and sunshine awaited us. Reflecting back, I believe we needed a new life chapter. Some inner longing wasn’t satisfied and we believed a new environment would provide our wings a place to expand and grow.

Although the move became a downsize, two moving trucks carried our belongings to storage and we drove out with our car filled to the ceiling. I’ll be honest, my heart ached leaving behind 3 drop dead gorgeous French armoires, exquisite furnishings, and a floral painting that was a spectacular work of art.

I don’t want to dismiss my loss but I want to view life with a healthy and meaningful perspective. There’s nothing wrong with possessing things. You’re in trouble when they possess you. We are not to measure our value by things or accomplishments and instead are to measure our worth by Christ’s love and sacrifice for us.

When Christ left heaven he came empty of possession, no moving trucks preceded him.

He left a face-to-face relationship with his father to become an infant dependent upon the care of others for his daily survival. He released the opportunities and privileges of heaven to become a man. He surrendered the use of his abilities only to act at his father’s instruction and direction. This directed him to Calvary.

What motivated our move is not wrong, but I won’t claim pure motives. Yes, I downsized, but many possessions accompanied me. Nonetheless, I traveled here loved. Loved so much that Christ emptied himself of everything in order to pursue and possess a loving relationship with me.

I want to live in a fuller awareness of how much I’m loved.

Leave a Reply

