Cost of Intimacy

You left your father and mother and your homeland…Ruth 2:11 (NIV)

I wonder if earth ever felt like home for Christ. Adjusting to a new environment is overwhelming and physically and emotionally exhausting. I used my GPS today to find a gas station where I could purchase a local map. Although my GPS got me to my location, I don’t feel like I know where I am.

 The journey to a new home helps me to catch glimpses into what Christ experienced in order to have an intimate relationship with me. Imagine leaving the ideal father and a picture perfect family environment. Physically separating yourself from their loving embraces in order to gather up and return estranged family members to their lost home.

The cost of what Christ left behind is multiplied by what he took on. Living on earth cost him the physical pain of Golgotha and the emotional pain of hatred, desertion, and abandonment.

I love that Christ never asks us to do anything that he hasn’t done. He willingly left home and family, endured the physical pain of abuse, and the devastating loss of a loved one. His pure and perfect intentions were questioned, doubted, and misunderstood. His sacrifice was publically mocked, mangled and massacred.

Remembering how much Christ paid to establish an intimate relationship with me, reminds me that my only true home is smack dab in the center of his will. Any journey that he leads is destined to bring me home.

2 Responses to “Cost of Intimacy”

  1. Momma Mindy Says:

    How well I remember that feeling of nothing ever feeling familiar. It can be frightening, or exciting, depending on what kind of mood you are in. I constantly used it to remind me that I am just a pilgrim and a sojourner here.

    This world is not my home, I’m just a passin’ through…

    Praying for you, sister!

  2. Lorie Says:

    What is powerful in helping me transition is recognizing God, not Ebay, is moving us. It doesn’t diminish the challenges, but it helps me to keep them in perspective. I’ve heard a lot about Christ’s humanity, but my life circumstances better help me understand the cost of Christ’s coming to earth all in order to bring me into a relationship with Him is immensely powerful. I don’t think I would have grasped this without the current move. God really uses life to teach us His love.

    Thanks for your prayers. I can’t express how much they mean right now. You are a true friend!

Leave a Reply

