Rest

In returning and rest shall you be saved, in quietness and confidence shall be your strength. Isaiah 30:15

While visiting a dear friend and young mother, her youngest child woke early from an afternoon nap. She came into the room and made a beeline for her mother. She crawled into her mother’s lap and cuddled in. Her body melted into her mother’s embrace. I could see a state of quiet and calm wash over her.

Rest occurs in the heart and transcends the mind and body. This little girl’s rest is in the relationship she had with her mother. When I see myself held safely in my Father’s embrace and secure in his love, my heart finds rest.

2 Responses to “Rest”

  1. Laurie Says:

    Hi Lorie,

    Thanks for the encouraging words here, I especially identified with your post about the cocoon.

    Keep us posted and we’ve been thinking about you and Rob and praying for you both…

    Laurie : )

    • Lorie Says:

      Laurie,

      Thanks for your response, your kindness in hosting us on our final days in Washington, and for your continued prayers…a true and sure sign of friendship. We are adjusting and embracing a new life. Today’s blog “Cost of Intimacy” came from reflecting on the challenges of adjusting and brought a great picture of what it cost Christ to journey to earth to secure a relationship with me. I hope to email out my first LRHBooks newletter (sent through ChimpMail to those who opt in) which will give you an update on our life journey in San Jose. It’s quite a bit of work getting it started, but my desire to stay connected with everyone is urging me on.

      Thanks for you ongoing friendship and support.

      Warmly, Lorie

Leave a Reply

